Subscribe Contribute

Benton County Democratic Central Committee | Serving the Democrats of Benton County, WA

Folks have been very active! Here are some pictures from recent events:

Previous Image
Next Image

info heading

info content


Newsletter – the July edition of our newsletter was released July 21.  This edition is dedicated to the August 1st Primary.  We plan on monthly releases – all suggestions are encouraged, please use this google form.

Volunteers are needed to cover shifts for the Democrats’ booth at the Benton Franklin County Fair. Shifts are 2 hours each, and you can sign up for more than one. Volunteers will also be needed for setup on the first day and teardown on the final day.
What does a volunteer do? You will represent local Democrats and Democratic values, provide information to visitors about the local Democratic parties and organizations, ensure literature is stocked, register voters, accept donations, etc.
Pride Festival – we had a booth at the Pride Festival July 16th at John Dam Plaza. Visit the event page to see pictures and Galen Ettlin’s video!

Committee News


The July meeting minutes are available. All minutes are posted on the Documents and Resources page.

Carol Moser gave a presentation on the Medicaid Transformation Project, part of the Washington’s “Healthier Washington Initiative”. The Medicaid usage numbers for our area are very interesting! John Christenson wrote a short introduction.

As part of the new business in the June meeting Richard Badalamente spoke about the division in our party.  He has written an article on the WA 8th LD Democrats blog “Are we living up to our principles as we work to strengthen our party, win back our political power, and strive to protect and preserve “a more perfect union?” .  You are encouraged to read the full article Are We Living Up To Our Principles?

Tech Day
There was a Tech Day on April 2 from 1:30-4:15 PM at the Richland Public Library. But if you missed it, never fear. We still have our corps of volunteers on retainer. If you would like to have some help with your internet stuff, please send us an email by clicking the link below.

I Need Tech Help

BCDCC Officers for 2017-2018

Election Day is August 1st

Candidate filing closed May 19th.  Ballots mailed July 12th.

Meet The Candidates
Forum Livestream Meet The Candidates - PascoForum Livestream Meet The Candidates - KennewickForum Livestream
The Tri-City Young Democrats Candidate Forum was June 29th. A livestream of the event is available and there is a write-up on the WA 8th LD Democrats blog.

Recent Document Additions

The revised governance documents (Rules, Policy Guide, and Bylaws) are available on the Documents and Resources page.

2016 Election Results
We have added a link in our Documents and Resources page to a spreadsheet showing the 2106 Election Results precinct by precinct.

Precinct Committee Officers (PCOs)
Precinct Committee Officers (PCOs) are responsible for organizing the precinct. However, in many precincts the PCO is vacant.