14. February 2022 · Comments Off on Benton County 2022 Races · Categories: Announcements, Committee News

The following races are up for this year’s election cycle in Benton County:

  • County Commissioner District 2 (seat being vacated by Shon Small)— former 16th LD Rep Bill Jenkin and Benton PUD Commissioner Barry Bush both initially filed as Republicans, as Shon is not running again. Bill and Barry are very active in the leadership of the Benton County GOP. Barry is also the lead opposition voice from the right to the proposed Horse Heaven Wind Farm project.  Marco Monteblanco, Kennewick PD detective/Washington Fraternal Order of Police chair as well as Richland Mayor and former Benton County Commissioner District 1 candidate Michael Alvarez have both more recently joined the race, bringing the total to four (R) candidates. Jenkin has already raised $3,850 and Monteblanco $1,898.
  • County Assessor— incumbent Bill Spencer (R) has filed
  • County Auditor— incumbent Brenda Chilton (R) has filed
  • County Clerk— incumbent Josie Delvin (R), wife of sitting County Commissioner Jerome Delvin, has filed
  • County Coroner— incumbent William Leach (R) has filed
  • County Prosecutor— Eric Eisinger (R) and current Richland City Councilmember/Deputy Prosecutor Ryan Lukson (R) have filed. Andy Miller is not running again. Eisinger has already raised $16,303.91 and Lukson $10,802.33. In my assessment, Eisinger is the far right candidate.
  • County Sheriff— John Hodge (R) has filed. He was one of the three finalists proposed by the Benton County GOP for the appointed Sheriff position. Current Sheriff appointee Tom Croskrey (R) has also filed
  • County Treasurer— incumbent Ken Spencer (R), father of County Assessor Bill Spencer, has filed